Subrata Ghoshal 8051 Microcontroller: Internals, Instructions, Programming and Interfacing Pdf Download

If you are looking for a right book on 8051, Subrata Ghoshal’s 8051 Microcontroller: Internals, Instructions, Programming and Interfacing is the right choice for you. This book teaches you every aspect with code and examples including internal architecture and from basic to advanced fundamentals. Book covers interfacing live examples like keyboards, displays, ADC, DAC, LEDs, DC and AC Motors, Stepper Motors. This book is an essential master piece for Electronics and Electrical, B Tech engineering students.

Table of Content
1. Introduction:
In the first chapter Prof Goshal introduces basic fundamentals and working of microcontrollers. Explaining the architecture and internal registers, functions in an easy method, that will help you to understand the microcontroller and will be helpful throughout the book. It was on chip system having 128 bytes of RAM with 4K byte on chip Read Only Memory, two timers for pulse generation and time keeping routines, one Rs232 Serial Port and have 4 ports with 40 Pins across the device.Other manufacturers were allowed to make and sell the the product in the market.

2. General Architecture of Microcontrollers
8051 was based on 8 bit architecture designed and produced by Intel. It was organized in 40 external hardware pins, 128 bytes of RAM Random Access Memory, 4Kb of ROM Read Only Memory Program Storage with 2 timers with 16 bit values. It has 4 ports with 8 bit architecture. With the integration of crystal oscillators to provide pulse frequency of 12 MHz. It uses internal registers in CPU for temporary storage: Accumulator, B register, Stack Pointer (SP), R register, Program Counter (PC), Data Pointer (DPTR).

3. I/O Ports and Special Function Registers
8051 microcontroller is integrated with 4 input output ports to accept and send data to and from the outer world. 32 input output ports are used to connect circuits and ports. They are Port 0, Port 1, Port 2 and Port 3. Along with this SFRs Special Function Registers which are internal storage are Power control (PCON), Interrupt Enable(IE), Program status word (PSW), Stack pointer, Timer mode (TMOD), Interrupt Priority(IP), Timer control, (TCON), Port SFRs, Accumulator, Serial control(SCON), DPTR, Serial Buffer(SBUF)

4. Addressing Modes and Data Move Operations
This chapter focuses on different addressing modes of 8051 microcontrollers, these are 1 byte, 2 byte instructions used in addressing modes. Using 8 bit long opcode 256 opcodes can be generated and can be used. With the 12 Mhz frequency system can execute 64 instructions in just 1 microsecond example multiplication, addition and division.  Six types of addressing modes for data movement in 8051 are Immediate Addressing Mode, Register Addressing Mode, Direct Addressing Mode, Register Indirect Addressing Mode, Indexed Addressing Mode, Implied Addressing Mode.

5. Arithmetic Operations
There are 24 Arithmetic instructions in 8051 with 64 opcodes.Add, ADDC, SUBB, Carry Flag(CY), Auxiliary Carry(AC) and OverFlow(OV) instructions. These are all important instructions used by microcontrollers for every arithmetic operation. Without which embedded application can not be developed. In this chapter we will learn how to use all these instructions and later, will develop applications.
6. Program Branching
While executing instructions in 8051 there are some situations when an application jumps from one location to another instruction block to execute some special tasks. Example calling delays, loops, sub functions etc can be executed using branching functions SJMP, AJMP, LJMP, LCALL, ACALL, SCALL.
7. Programming Examples
This chapter focuses on live examples using programming language. A detailed example will teach you how to write program coding, timers, interrupts, internal and external routines. How to connect the external world with help of ports and RS22.

8. Subroutines and Stacks
Stack are memory locations in every microcontroller in Read and Write Memory. During the execution of an application, stack is used to store information in the memory for later use by system. 
It also stores the return address for subroutine calls. Values produced by application are stored in memory for later use, this data is stored in stack pointer and received when we need this data.

9. Logical Operations
Under the logical operation group there are 25 different instructions in 8051 architecture and they can be used easily as per the requirement in development. 49 opcodes with Carry Flag that affect RRC and RLC instructions. These boolean operators are AND, OR, XOR, NOT and Mnemonic are ANL, ORL, XRL and CPL. Every instruction has its own role in applications. There are two types of boolean operations in 8051 architecture: logical operation and bitwise operations.

10. Boolean Variable Manipulation

Chapter deals with boolean variable manipulation, here we will study advanced variable manipulation and how to use in  embedded application development. Plays an important role in system development.

11. Programming Examples:
In this chapter the author puts light on live practical examples, it is not easy to understand the working of any embedded system using simple theoretical language, we need to understand every practical given in this chapter so that we should have a complete hold on practical development of applications.

12. Advanced Instructions
Here comes some advanced chapters for some advanced engineers or for those who want to learn some advanced technique of 8051 application development. Author focuses on live advanced instructions.

14. External Interrupts
8051 Microcontroller consists of various important interrupts; they are 2 external interrupts, 1 serial interrupt and 2 Timer interrupts. External interrupts name are external interrupt 0(INT0) and external interrupts1(INT1). They are activated from external events. When they receive some external interruption they execute the code inside it.
 15. Timer Counter Interrupts
Two timers are integrated named Timer 0 and Timer and both of them are 16 bit timers. They can be used in any manner as a Timer Or Counters as per the need. 8051 is 8 bit architecture so both timers are divided into two 8 bit registers called low-byte and high-byte. A counter is a function that stores the number or values when an event is processed.

16. Serial Communications and Serial Interrupts
8051 is integrated with internal serial communication interrupts to communicate with the external devices like printers, displays etc. We need to use RS232 serial protocol in order to connect with devices. Rs232 is an international standard use logic -25 and +25 volts. MAX 232 is a specialized IC used to convert these voltage levels to 0-5 volts used by Input output pins. RS232 AND MAX232 are used in the circuits to make it compatible for 8051 Microcontrollers. Interrupts and Registers as follows: SM0, SM1, SM2, REN, TB8, RB8, TI, RI.

17. Interfacing: External Memory
At the end of this chapter, the reader will be capable of interfacing external memory types like RAM (Random Access Memory), ROM(Read Only Memory) with the help of the internal memory register and functionality. In this chapter you will be introduced to interfacing RAM with MCS51 architecture, timing circuits and others.

From Chapter 18-19: you will learn various interfacing techniques like keyboards, DAC and ADC, LCD displays, DC  Motors, Servo Motors, Stepper Motors etc. These entire chapters are based on interfacing.

24 Power Management of Microcontrollers
25 Case Study: An Home Protection System
26 Advanced Microcontrollers
27: Interfacing Intel 8255 PPI with 8051

Appendix A: MCS-51 Instruction Set
Appendix B: 8051 Programs using C
Appendix C: Intel MCS – 51 Programmer’s Guide and Instruction Set

Author: admin